The Jon Conyers Memorial Scholarship

The Intercollegiate Equestrian Foundation would like to invite coaches to nominate a rider from your team who best exemplifies the qualifications outlined in the attached information. This new award will be an annual one honoring an incredible man in Jon Conyers and an incredible student rider. The nominated rider must be a freshmen or sophomore or in his first or second year competing in the IHSA. The nominated rider must also be competing in the Walk-Trot, Beginning Horsemanship, Walk-Trot-Canter or Intermediate Horsemanship divisions at the time of the nomination. Riders who do not fulfill this criteria will not be considered for this scholarship. Coaches are asked to also include a photo of the nominated rider to use for press releases.

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact Megan Taylor (Chairperson-Jon Conyers Memorial Scholarship Committee).

The Jon Conyers Memorial Scholarship was established this to honor an extraordinary teacher, judge and coach and is awarded annually to an undergraduate competing member of the IHSA. The hallmark of Jon’s involvement with IHSA was his willingness to share his knowledge and experience with anyone interested in learning. His selfless commitment has helped shape the IHSA as we know it today. Jon competed as an undergraduate IHSA rider; instructed and coached for numerous college programs; frequently judged IHSA horse shows; and gave clinics throughout the southeast. In addition, he served as a member of the IHSA Board of Directors for many years in a variety of capacities, including as a Regional President, Zone Chairperson, Director of Alumni, Director at Large, and National Horse Show Manager.

Jon Conyers Memorial Award

2017 Award - Leslie Giorgetti - Hollins University
2016 Award - Danielle Tominus - William Patterson University
2015 Award - Riley Merdinian - Truman State University - Kirksville Missouri
2014 Award - Mary Thomson - St. Andrew's University
2013 Award - Katlynn Cross - Wesleyan College
2012 Award -
2011 Award - Madeleine Day - University of the South
2010 Award - Tom Schoen - Miami University of Ohio